Husaberg successful in Spanish and US National Enduro Championship

created by Husaberg , 04.03.2013

Husaberg’s rider Oriol Mena sets the pace at the opening round of the Spanish Enduro Championship while Mike Lafferty places 2nd at the US National Enduro Championship

Husaberg’s rider Oriol Mena set the pace at the opening round of the Spanish Enduro Championship in Santiago de Compostela

After a week of heavy rain showers the 200 competitors entered in the opening round of the series were greeted to welcome sunshine as the 2013 season got underway in the cathedral town of Santiago de Compostela.

Delivering a blistering run of form during the opening lap, Husaberg’s Oriol Mena, who won the Spanish Cross Country Championship only a couple of weeks ago, maintained his advantage to claim the win by 11 seconds from KTM’s Ivan Cervantes on the first day (E2 and Scratch).

“I'm very happy with how everything went,” confirmed Mena. “The start of the race was crucial because in the first two stages I rode very well and I could manage the advantage to win."

The battle continued on the second day of the race when Mena finished 2nd just behind Cervantes (E2) and 7th in Scratch. Mario Roman contributed to the overall success with another podium result – he placed 3rd in E1 class on the second day (after 4th place on the first day) while Jaume Betriu finished 3rd in E2 (after being 5th on the first day).

Results – Spanish Enduro Championship, Rd1 (Scratch)

Day 1

1. Oriol Mena (Husaberg), 2. Ivan Cervantes (KTM), 3. Lorenzo Santolino (Husqvarna), 4. Danny McCanney (Gas Gas), 5. Victor Guerrero (KTM),… 8. Joakim Ljunggren (Husaberg)

Day 2

1. Ivan Cervantes (KTM), 2. Danny McCanney (Gas Gas), 3. Rodrig Thain (Gas Gas), 4. Fabien Planet (Sherco), 5. Lorenzo Santolino (Husqvarna),… 7. Oriol Mena (Husaberg), 9. Jaume Betriu (Husaberg)

The next round of the Enduro Championship in Spain will take place on 6 and 7 April in Valverde del Camino (Huelva).


Mike Lafferty 2nd at the US National Enduro Championship (NEPG), Rd2

Round two of the NEPG enduro series took place at The Sandlapper. Husaberg rider Mike Lafferty celebrated a podium result, placing just after Charlie Mullins, who was the fastest at both rounds so far.

After setting the joint fastest time with Mullins on test one, Mike Lafferty (Husaberg) slowed down a bit in three of the four remaining tests to secure the 2nd place at the end.

Russell Bobbitt (Husaberg) beat teammate Nick Fahringer by just five seconds to end his day fourth with Fahringer completing the top five.

Results – US National Enduro Championship (NEPG), Rd2

1. Charlie Mullins (KTM) 24:11; 2. Mike Lafferty (Husaberg) 25:32; 3. Thad Duvall (Honda) 25:41; 4. Russell Bobbitt 25:46; 5. Nick Fahringer (Husaberg) 25:54…


Bg Bg Bg